Gardner A. Sage Library: Open Access Resources

The Anti-racism Digital Library serves as a clearinghouse for anti-racism related resources. Collections such as A Mote in Minerva's Eye, Anti-racism in Archives and Libraries, Comfort Women, Presbyterian Women, Progressive Christians Uniting, The Intercultural Church, OC Cities for CEDAW, Reclaiming Ourselves, Golden Rule (coming soon) showcase people, regions, social communities and workplaces (libraries and archives). They are a microcosm of our larger world representing diverse geographical origins and culture, language groups and faith traditions — Atheists, Buddhists, Christians irrespective of denominations, and non-denominations, Hindus, Humanists, Muslims, Sikhs, and more - who want to improve their practices of inclusion and belonging and increase equity. Other collections such as the Anti-racist Identity, Racial Imagination, American Identity, Christian Imagination, Intersectional Invisibility, and American Myths offer new language for fueling the human imagination with concepts and categories that describe the essential humanity. All collections emerge from the research and bring together information resources created by people, groups and projects that use anti-racism to build inclusive, healing, and caring communities.

The Atla Digital Library brings together in a singular, searchable platform digitized collections from libraries, religious institutions, and other organizations worldwide who collect and preserve texts, records, maps, photographs, recordings, and other materials. The items found in the Atla Digital Library are of importance to those with an interest in researching, studying, teaching, and otherwise searching for historical and archival content in religion and theology

The Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affairs seeks a more just and peaceful world by deepening knowledge and solving problems at the intersection of religion and global affairs through research, teaching, and engaging multiple publics. Two premises guide the center’s work: that a comprehensive examination of religion and norms is critical to address complex global challenges, and that the open engagement of religious and cultural traditions with one another can promote peace. To this end, the center engages students, scholars, policymakers, and practitioners in analysis of and dialogue on critical issues in order to increase the public understanding of religion.

BiblIndex is an index of biblical references found in early Christian literature, both Western and Eastern texts, so far covering the first three centuries, along with part of the following century. The eventual goal is to cover the whole of Late Antiquity and the early Middle Ages to help renew the study of the interpretation and the history of biblical texts.

Books@Atla Open Press publishes valuable resources for religious studies and theology scholars and librarians. Titles are published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial license (CC-BY-NC 4.0 International) and are made available in EPUB and PDF format with some titles also available as Print on Demand for a reasonable price.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent index contains almost 17,500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing.

This free database, which now includes content from American Doctoral Dissertations, has full-text access to over 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Homosaurus provides a linked data framework for searching databases worldwide. Check the vocabulary list to help you identify searchable terms.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

OADTL is comprised of over 190,000 ebooks and thousands of journals in religious studies. Content is ecumenical, global, and interreligious. Materials are available in multiple languages. Find databases such as Google Scholar, Open Access Theses & Dissertations, and the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Over 6000 free titles available from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press.

The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA. There are over 1,000 data files included in the ARDA collection. You can browse files by category, alphabetically, view the newest additions, most popular files, or search for a file. Once you select a file you can preview the results, read about how the data were collected, review the survey questions asked, save selected survey questions to your own file, and/or download the data file.

Atla has licensed LibGuides by Springshare for use by Atla Interest Groups, Committees, Denominational Groups and Atla staff for the purpose of producing subject resource guides for use by Atla members and other libraries who may have a use for the content to serve their patrons. Atla LibGuides content will be available for reuse by other libraries who use LibGuides; all Atla LibGuides are licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC 4.0 license.

On Bible Odyssey, the world’s leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible.

This site, which takes its name from the same root, explores the life, ministry and witness of the ɛκκλήσια – the assembly of those who are called out by Jesus into the world. The authors and conversation partner often speak challenges to the witness of the church. The site also shares news not often heard of the ways the church witnesses to Jesus’ love and justice in communities and around the globe. Additionally, insight is offered about the future life of the ɛκκλήσια, and ways in which the church is changing and may change in days and years to come. We invite you to take part in these conversations, and look forward to dialogue with you.

Documents and special collections on ecumenical, intercultural and contextual theologies, theological education, world Christianity, and interreligious studies, regularly receiving updates from the Index Theologicus, International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies.

The largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore, and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship and has the largest readership of any similar site on the web.

The LGBTQ Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN) is an innovative venture in preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) religious movements around the world.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

The Queer Resources Directory (QRD) is an electronic research library specifically dedicated to sexual minorities -- groups which have traditionally been labelled as "queer" and systematically discriminated against.

Research in Ministry® (RIM®) is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.

The following lists the pure gold open access journals published by SAGE. All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license. All articles are rigorously peer-reviewed retaining the quality hallmarks of the academic publishing process that authors would experience in publishing in any traditional SAGE journal.

Created by Rev. Elana Kepple Levy, this site is a resource to pastors and church leaders who might want more background on the words of Scripture. There’s so much Bible, it can be exhausting to go through commentaries, dictionaries and word lists. This site includes word studies for the lectionary passages one week before they are due to be preached.

Talking about race is not easy, although hard, is necessary. We are here to provide tools and guidance to empower your journey and inspire conversation.

Young Clergy Women International creates a holy and authentic community that sustains generous collaboration for Christian clergy women under 40.