Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gardner A. Sage Library: Search the Databases

Welcome to the Gardner A. Sage Library of New Brunswick Theological Seminary. Often referred to as the “jewel of the campus,” the Sage Library is the physical and digital hub for theological research in the New Brunswick, NJ area.

First Time Using WorldCat Discovery

WorldCat Discovery

Use the above link to open "WorldCat Discovery" in a new browser tab.

After entering a search term, and clicking the "Search" button:

To search items that are available in the collection at Sage Library in the "Held By Library" section on the left-hand side make sure the "New Brunswick Theo Library Gardner A. Sage Library" box is checked.

To search items that are available worldwide in the "Held By Library" section on the left-hand side make sure the "Libraries Worldwide" box is checked.

Using the Digital Theological Library (DTL)

 The Digital Theological Library Home Page

Use the above link to access all four DTL libraries

 

The DTL is an expansive database in the studies of religion and theology. The DTL has over 600,000 Ebooks, 60,000,000 full text articles, and 21,000 journals from over 150 databases. Use this database to access ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

DTL

Access to the DTL is restricted to matriculated DMin and Master's students and current faculty and staff of the Seminary.

If you are researching a specific topic such as Biblical Studies, Christian Ethics, or Pastoral Care take a look at the many Subject Guides available on the DTL.

Using EbscoHost

EbscoHost Web provides access to several databases including Academic Search Premier, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials, ERIC, and the EbscoHost eBook Collection. 

When using this database make sure you click on the link for EBSCOhost Web.

ebsco

Some helpful tips when searching in EbscoHost:

  • Start your search more broadly and then narrow down your search using the "Refine Results" filters on the left hand side of the page 
    • Use "Full Text", "Peer Reviewed", and "Scholarly Journals" to narrow results to items you have full text access to that have gone through the peer review process.
  • If searching in the Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials use the Thesaurus at the top of the page to help produce more effective searches
  • If searching in Academic Search Premier, use the Subject Terms option at the top of the page to find better key words for your searches

Using JSTOR

JSTOR is a research database that provided access to over 12 million academic journals, articles, books and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

jstor

Some helpful tips when searching in JSTOR:

  • Use "Content I can Access"
  • You can narrow the date range to find more recent publications
  • You can narrow the subject fields to areas such as "religion" and "peace and conflict studies"

Using Oxford Academic

A vast library of over 2100 academic books from Oxford University Press in religion. 

 

For detailed instructions on searching in this database see this page. 

 

 

Using Oxford Reference

Newly rebranded from Oxford Biblical Scholarship Online to Oxford Reference, this resource provides more than 61,000 concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries on the wide range of subjects within this versatile field. Written by trusted experts for researchers at every level, entries are complemented by illustrative line drawings and images wherever useful.

 

Using Quick Search

1. Type or paste the term you want to find in the main Search box at the top right of each page.

search box

2. Click search button or press Enter.

3. The results of your search are displayed in the Results list.

4. Click on any of the items in the list to view it.

  • To search for a phrase, enclose it in inverted commas (e.g. “the quality of mercy is not strained”).
  • The full content of padlocked books and entries padlock are unavailable under your subscription. Use the following filter (situated to the left of the ‘You are looking at…’ box ) to show only the results from content to which your subscription gives you full access to:
    Image of content provided by library

ProQuest Ebook Central

NBTS alums and current, faculty, staff, and students have access to ProQuest Ebook Central. To request an account, please go to this link

Ebook Central

To open ProQuest Ebook Central in a new tab, click here.

If you need login information for any of the databases, please email sage.library@nbts.edu or call the Circulation desk during operating hours at (732) 247-5243.