Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chaplaincy Innovation Lab
The Chaplaincy Innovation Lab brings chaplaincy leaders, theological educators, clinical educators, and social scientists into a research-based conversation about the state of chaplaincy and spiritual care. Driving our work are questions about how, in the midst of changes in the American religious landscape, spiritual caregivers can do their best work. We aim to improve how chaplains are trained, how they work with diverse individuals (including those with no religious or spiritual backgrounds), and how chaplaincy and spiritual care coheres as a professional field.
Chaplain-physician relationship by
Publication Date: 2014-01-14
Learn how to establish and maintain effective relationships with physicians with this authoritative new book. Chaplains will discover a wealth of information and insight into the often strained chaplain-physician relationship and will learn practical steps they can take to strengthen the ties between two very different professions. Each chapter, written by a chaplain with a history of successful collaboration with physicians, features important examples of interdisciplinary cooperative effort in various settings including obstetrics, geriatrics, and outpatient cardiac rehabilitation centers. Hospital chaplains, especially those who wish to improve their relationships with physicians and hospital administrators will find this to be an invaluable book, as will pastoral counselors not presently involved with hospitals who desire to work with physicians in health and illness settings.
Emerging socialities in 21st century health care by
Publication Date: 2017-03-29
The landscape of health care is changing rapidly, both on an organizational and a technological level. This book gathers medical anthropologists to examine the ways that both patients and health care workers are being affected by new policies, market, and technologies. Contributors cover a wide range of topics, including vaccination, disability, migration, and self-medication, making clear that not only are changing circumstances leading to the emergence of new socialities, but they are also driving new ethics and moralities.
Foundations of chaplaincy: a practical guide by
Publication Date: 2021
An approachable overview of the nature, purpose, and functional roles of chaplaincy. Chaplaincy is unlike any other kind of ministry. It involves working outside a church, without a congregation, usually in a secular organization. It requires ministering to those with starkly different religious convictions, many of whom may never enter a house of worship. It is, as Alan Baker writes, "ministry in motion." Those who are embarking upon this unique and specialized call deserve equally unique and specialized guidance, and Foundations of Chaplaincy offers exactly that. Baker surveys the biblical and theological foundations of chaplaincy before enumerating four specific responsibilities and skills that define chaplaincy's "ministry of presence": providing, facilitating, caring, and advising. Baker's thorough guidance on these matters is supplemented in sidebars with practical advice and anecdotes from over thirty chaplains currently serving in a variety of settings and organizations. Chaplains who serve in healthcare, the military, correctional institutions, police and fire departments, sports teams, college campuses, and corporations have essential roles to play in their respective organizations, but theirs is rarely an easy calling. With Foundations of Chaplaincy as an introduction and an ongoing reference, those called to this important vocation may be assured of having the tools they need to cultivate a strong, mission-driven pastoral identity rooted in their own theological tradition while simultaneously participating in a multi-faith team.
In living color: an intercultural approach to pastoral care and counseling by
Publication Date: 2003-03-15
The meaning of pastoral care in modern multicultural societies is challenged and re-examined from a pluralistic, global perspective in this book. Lartey stresses the importance of recognizing different cultural influences on individuals in order to effectively counsel, guide and empower them. He provides a concise history of pastoral care.
Ministry among God's queer folk: LGBTQ pastoral care by
Publication Date: 2019-01-21
This practical pastoral care handbook, written by two self-described queer people of faith, covers the basic skills that religious caregivers and ministry students need in order to be effective, enlightened, and supportive pastoral care providers to LGBTQ persons in congregational and other community settings. Authors Schlager and Kundtz distinguish pastoral care from pastoral counseling: while the latter is reserved for those with special training in the practice of therapy, the former can be developed by ministers and lay people with sufficient education and practice. This book requires of the reader no previous experience with LGBTQ communities and treats the following topics: the definition and functions of pastoral care; effective care in challenging times; coming out of the closet; creating communities of care; and caring for a wide variety of LGBTQ relationships. The authors provide case studies throughout the book to ground and illustrate their theology of pastoral care.
Addiction and pastoral care by
Call Number: BV4460.3 .W38 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Through personal stories, engaging research, and theological reflection, Sonia Waters weaves a picture of addiction as a complicated condition that arises from multiple sources of suffering. Addiction and Pastoral Care offers an in-depth exploration of practical counseling skills and advice for recovery care, argues for a less individualistic approach to the problem of addiction, and provides ways for congregations to become involved in the healing process.
African American pastoral care and counseling: the politics of oppression and empowerment by
Call Number: BV4468.2.A34 W55 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
"It is because pastoral care and counseling facilitate personal agency and efficacy (personal, as well as social, and political empowerment and transformation) that African American pastoral care and counseling are inherently political processes contends Wimberly." "Here, he outlines the theological anthropology that undergirds the practices of care and the practices of self as holistic processes. He shows those who engage in pastoral counselling with African Americans how to navigate around the negative self-images, identities, and stories into which they have been recruited in order to liberate themselves and be able to discern how to best make use of their personal and political agency and efficacy."--BOOK JACKET.
Dictionary of pastoral care and counseling by
Call Number: REF BV4011.3 .D53 2005
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
This volume offers authoritative, easy-to-find information that will assist anyone engaged in the study or practice of pastoral care and counseling." "The Dictionary contains more than 1,200 articles, prepared by experts in the field, covering virtually every topic related to pastoral care and counseling. This Expanded Edition includes seven new essays and an extensive bibliography, which bring the volume up to date. The resource is ecumenical in its vision, enlisting the participation of nearly 600 Protestant, Catholic, Orthodox, and Jewish contributors
Musings of a Muslim chaplain by
Call Number: BV 4375 K46 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-17
This book chronicles the journey of a Muslim hospital chaplain from the beginning of her internship and residency through the first two years of her appointment as a staff chaplain. As a board certified hospital chaplain, Sondos Kholaki often finds herself at the intersection of joy and grief, life and death, humor and sorrow, community and solitude. Through various encounters, the author gives us a unique glimpse into the world of clinical pastoral care. In one story, she recounts a patient whose cancer disabled his speech. With only a pad of paper, pen, and hand gestures, the patient struggled to communicate. Several minutes in, amid much frustration from both ends, she finally interpreted what the patient so adamantly wanted her to hear: "Is God in your life?"
The practice of pastoral care: a postmodern approach by
Call Number: BV4011.3 .D64 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-02
The Practice of Pastoral Care has become a popular seminary textbook for courses in pastoral care and a manual for clinical pastoral education. In it, Doehring encourages counselors to view their ministry through a trifocal lens that incorporates premodern, modern, and postmodern approaches to religious and psychological knowledge. Doehring describes the basic ingredients of a caregiving relationship, shows how to use the caregiver's life experience as a source of authority, and demonstrates how to develop the skill of listening and establishing the actual relationship. This new edition elaborates on and expands the author's previous work, adding an intercultural perspective that gives more attention to religious pluralism in the pastoral care setting. It offers a road map for using a step-by-step narrative, relational, embodied approach to spiritual care that respects the unique ways people live out their values and beliefs, especially in coping with stress, loss, and violence. Readers will be able to confidently and professionally offer pastoral care and counseling to members of their congregations or other places of ministry.
Research in pastoral care and counseling: quantitative and qualitative approaches by
Call Number: BV4011 .V358 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Larry VandeCreek, DMin, the author of A Research Primer for Pastoral Care and Counseling (now Part One of the current volume), is the retired Assistant Director in the Department of Pastoral Care, University Hospitals of The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio. He also served as Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Neurology. His research interests and publications focus on quantitative research that elucidates the religious/spiritual needs of hospital patients and the impact of pastoral care. Hilary Bender, PhD, STD, is a clinical and research psychologist in private practice in Brookline, Massachusetts. He is a Boston University Professor Emeritus and is on the faculty of the Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology. His specialty in research and clinical work is the ""all-but-dissertation"" phenomenon and working with the many doctoral students who have completed all requirements for their degrees but the dissertation and become unable to make this final step. Merle R. Jordan, ThD, is the retired Albert V. Danielsen Professor of Pastoral Psychology at the Boston University School of Theology. He is a Diplomate in the American Association of Pastoral Counselors and a Fellow and Approved Supervisor in the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists. He is the author of Taking on the Gods: The Task of the Pastoral Counselor. Margot Hover, DMin, is an Association of Clinical Pastoral Education supervisor and the coordinator of pastoral research at Duke University Medical Center, Raleigh, North Carolina. She has received the ACPE Research of the Year Award and the Council on Ministry in Specialized Settings Research Paper of the Year Award. She is also the author of Caring for Yourself When Caring for Others.
Spiritual care in practice: case studies in healthcare chaplaincy by
Call Number: BL65.M4 S673 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-21
Revealing the richness and depth of understanding that chaplaincy brings to direct work with patients, these in-depth case studies and critical responses from other chaplains and healthcare professionals give insight into spiritual carer-patient work in a range of settings and the vital work of chaplains in the healthcare team.
Through the eyes of women: insights for pastoral care by
Call Number: BV4445 .T57 1996
Publication Date: 1996-06-10
A comprehensive survey of care of women, by women, from a religious standpoint results from the collaboration of nineteen leading women in the field of pastoral care. Subjects include the role of women in pastoral theology and pastoral care, care of African American women, and of women entering ministry. The book treats anger, aggression, lesbian identities, loss of mothers, eating disorders, hysterectomy, mastectomy, rape, and older women's issues. The volume concludes with women's spiritual care, community, self-sacrifice, and self-denial.
Access Services and Reference Librarian
Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses