Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Book Highlight
Preaching the headlines: possibilities and pitfalls by
Call Number: BV4211.3 .T46 2021
Publication Date: 2021-08-31
Preaching the Headlines reframes preaching as an ongoing conversation between the modern world and the world of the biblical text. Preachers use what they know about life as a bridge to the text, while life in the text provides the bridge back to faith in the contemporary world. The goal of the book is to provide a process to aid preachers in doing theological reflection on the everyday world as an integral part of sermon development.
Craddock on the craft of preaching by
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
No one has had more impact and influence on the craft of preaching in the last several decades than Fred Craddock. After his retirement from a distinguished teaching career, he became free to share his wisdom with a wider audience without the burdens of academic responsibilities. As a result he's given hundreds of lectures and workshops on preaching. The lectures and workshops show an ever-expanding scholarship beyond that of his published books. This book has gathered the "best of the best" of these lectures/workshops and offers them to preachers and students of preaching for critical reflection and increased effectiveness.
Culturally-conscious worship by
Publication Date: 2012-11-09
Black uses shared stories, blended music, and the arts to enliven worship in culturally and linguistically diverse congregations. She provides biblical and theological foundations and practical methods and models for creating culturally-conscious worship.
The empty church: theater, theology, and bodily hope by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This title offers a novel vision of church through interdisciplinary conversation between performance studies, theatre directors, and Christian theologians. Each chapter brings a theatre director into dialogue with a theologian, teasing out how the concept of performance enriches hermeneutics, anthropology, and epistemology. The result is a compelling depiction of church as performance of relationship with Jesus Christ, mediated by Scripture, in hope of the Holy Spirit.
Ingenuity: preaching as an outsider by
Publication Date: 2018
Ingenuity introduces a theology and practice of preaching that emerges from the faith and wisdom of black women. Preaching has been resourced and taught from a narrow field of cultural or gendered experiences, historically. Without much support from established channels, black women are left to "figure it out" on their own, and others discern how to preach from a limiting scope. The best preachers understand their own voices and the voices of others. They stretch and grow, and this enables them to preach more effectively. Ingenuity equips readers to negotiate tradition, life experiences, and theological conviction in the creative work that makes way for sacred speech. With Ingenuity, Lisa Thompson offers deep insights for anyone seeking to enlarge their understanding, their language, and their sense of lived experiences, and offers practical help through "In Practice" segments for those who preach.
The liberating pulpit by
Publication Date: 2003-01-27
Catherine and Justo Gonzalez provide a valuable resource for preaching and biblical interpretation. An account of liberation theology's impact on the task of preaching is offered by two historians of doctrine who are intimately aware of the need to be open to marginalized perspectives in the church. Early Christian preachers had much to say on issues such as the origins and proper use of wealth, the rights and duties of the poor and rich, and the nature of ownership. The Gonzalezes recapture this early Christian spirit offering concrete ways that the interpretation of specific biblical texts may be enriched or corrected in order to speak directly to the whole life of the whole church.Often used as a text in preaching courses, 'The Liberating Pulpit' helps to clarify and to bridge the gap between those whose preaching and hermeneutics tend to be more traditional and the various minorities who tend to read Scripture in a different way.
Performance in preaching: bringing the sermon to life by
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
This volume, which launches the Engaging Worship series from Fuller Theological Seminary's Brehm Center for Worship, Theology, and the Arts, offers a unique study of sermon delivery. While many books offer advice on how to prepare, write, and preach a sermon, this volume is distinctive in approaching the subject from the perspective of performance. The authors, who teach at a variety of seminaries and divinity schools across the nation, examine how the sermon can bring God's word to life for the congregation. In that sense, they consider the idea of performance from a wide range of theological, artistic, and musical viewpoints. These thoughtful essays will engage clergy and students with new ways of looking at the art of preaching.
Preaching black lives (matter) by
Publication Date: 2020-07-17
A collection that motivates preaching, teaching, and advocating for eliminating racism.
The womanist preacher: proclaiming womanist rhetoric from the pulpit by
Publication Date: 2017
Highlights the rhetorical art form that exists in womanist preaching and womanist rhetoric by analyzing the sermons of five women who are considered exemplars of womanist preaching: Elaine M. Flake, Gina M. Stewart, Cheryl Kirk-Duggan, Melva L. Sampson, and Claudette A. Copeland.
The art & craft of biblical preaching: a comprehensive resource for today's communicators by
Call Number: BS534.5 .A78 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-14
The most complete practical encyclopedia on the practice of preaching from over a hundred respected communicators of Christian truth, edited by Haddon Robinson and Craig Brian Larson using significant resources from the ministries of Christianity Today International. Includes audio CD with preaching technique examples from the book.
The art in preaching: the intersection of theology, worship, and preaching with the arts by
Call Number: BV4211.2 .R423
Publication Date: 1988-03-08
Addresses the questions of: How should the Christian faith understand and utilize the arts? What should our attitude be toward the presence of art forms in worship? Is it possible and appropriate to conceive of the sermon as an art form? Can it be demonstrated that people respond to the artistry of sermons? How can we preach more artful sermons?
Liturgies from below: 462 acts of worship ; praying with people at the ends of the world by
Call Number: BV245 .C37 2020
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
It's been said that prayer is the vocabulary of faith. This book offers a wealth of resources from forgotten places to help us create a new vocabulary for worship and prayer, one that is located amidst the poor and the major issues of violence and destruction around the world today. It is a collection of prayers, songs, rituals, rites of healing, Eucharistic and baptismal prayers, meditations and art from four continents: Asia-Pacific Islands, Africa, Americas, and Europe. Liturgies from Below is the culmination of a project organized by the Council for World Mission (CWM) during 2018-2019. Approximately 100 people from four continents worked with CWM, collaborating to create indigenous prayers and liturgies expressing their own contexts, for sharing with their communities and the rest of the world. The project was called "Re-Imagining Worship as Acts of Defiance and Alternatives in the Context of Empire". The author and others spent weeks living in each of four communities for several weeks/months, getting to know the people, and then facilitating the people's own creation of prayers and liturgies. The author, other scholars, pastors, artists, activists and students all came from radically different ethnicities, races, sexualities, churches and Christian theologies. The people in each location were poor, living in very challenging communities, living in oppressive and seemingly hopeless situations. After some time, they wrote prayers and stories of their experience trying to live the Christian faith in utterly abandoned places. What we have here is an immensely rich and varied collection of liturgical sources from various communities dealing with issues of violence, immigration/refugees, drugs, land grabbing, war on the poor, attack on women, militarization, climate change, and so on.
Liturgy in postcolonial perspectives: only one is holy by
Call Number: BT83.593 .L58 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-10
This book brings Christian, Jewish and Muslim scholars from different fields of knowledge and many places across the globe to introduce/expand the dialogue between the field of liturgy and postcolonial/decolonial thinking. Connecting main themes in both fields, this book shows what is at stake in this dialectical scholarship.
Preaching as testimony by
Call Number: BV4211.3 .F56 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
By exploring the historical, theoretical, and practical elements of the tradition of testimony, Anna Carter Florence seeks in this much-anticipated book to establish the historical and contemporary validity of women's preaching and to introduce testimony to a new generation of preachers and teachers. She begins with the stories of three women whose preaching was often described as testimony: Anne Marbury Hutchinson, Sarah Osborn, and Jarena Lee. Then, she examines biblical and theological perspectives on testimony. Finally, she explores how testimony plays out in a preacher's life, offering constructive proposals for preaching as well as helpful guidelines, direction, and exercises.
Preaching in the era of Trump by
Call Number: BV4211.3 .A544 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Now more than ever, it's time to preach. The election of Donald Trump left countless faith leaders across the country speechless. Now that he is president, silence must give way to prophetic preaching. Christians have long debated whether politics should be addressed from the pulpit. Following Donald Trump's controversial, divisive rise to power and the sweeping changes his fledgling administration have already proposed, that's no longer a question -- political preaching will be the order of the day, even for pastors who try to steer clear of controversy. It's up to preachers to make the church great again by leading it to embrace and embody God's concern for those whose lives are at stake in a Trump administration. Veteran teacher, preacher, and author Wes Allen offers a blueprint for addressing current events through a Gospel lens, persuasively and pastorally -- without engaging in divisive, antagonistic rhetoric.
Unceasing worship: biblical perspectives on worship and the arts by
Call Number: BV10.3 .B47 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-29
Harold M. Best casts a holistic vision for worship that transcends narrow discussions of musical style or congregational preference, corrects errors in how Christians have viewed the arts and misunderstandings about the use of music, and offers instead a more biblically consistent approach to artistic action.
Worship for the whole people of God: textbook for Christian worship by
Call Number: BV15 .D84 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-23
This revised edition by Ruth C. Duck provides theological foundations for worship and explores the ways Christians have adapted worship to various cultures to help them live faithfully and to communicate the gospel to others. It celebrates the many languages and cultural settings in which the gospel has been, and is, preached, sung, and prayed.
Access Services and Reference Librarian
90 Second Sermon
90 Second Sermons are brief messages based on each week's teaching from the First Presbyterian Church of Englewood (NJ).
The gathering Experience
The Gathering is a womanist church that exists to create worship experiences that address social justice issues through womanist preaching and action. It's not just for women, though - it's for women and men, where social justice is addressed through the gospel text in a way that raises prophetic voices and issues a rallying cry, speaking truth to power. It is about women and men working together to dismantle the systemic structures that seek to oppress people.
Hosanna Preaching Project
The purpose of the Hosanna Project experience is to struggle with and to address the serious theological problems which arise when the traditions of a religious community and its way of reading the scriptures assert that its members are somehow chosen, set apart, called or covenanted to be in a unique and specially privileged relationship with God to the exclusion of all others.
Sermons on social justice.
Equipping a worldwide community of pastors and ministry leaders through free access to sermon preparation materials and sermon examples.